Lovin’ it

Loving it

‘If I had the money, I would send every Christian to this course’ – this was the comment made by one of my classmates at the ‘Introduction to the Bible’ PTC course and I have to say I agree with her 100%.

It is a bit silly to say, but it’s only until the end of the course that I realised I never really got the bible. I might have read and heard plenty of sermons on the bible, but I never knew there was a central message, let alone knew what it was! And the Old Testament… well they were just some very cryptic lyrical whose meaning would only be apparent between the author and God.

And so I avoided the Bible, not only because I didn’t understand, but I didn’t enjoy reading it.

But, I enjoyed this course. I looked forward to reading the material every week and even read beyond the requirement material to get a better understanding of the historical developments in the bible. And, finally I can say I get it. I get that there is a central theme to the bible and from beginning to the end, it’s just one big plan of God’s to reverse the effects of sin planted in Genesis and to restore people to himself. And all the events and people like, Moses, Abraham, David, Solomon, even Christ were just instruments to bring this goal to fruition. How simple!

So it is also my prayer that every Christian and even non-Christian will get to understand the entirety of this message in their life time. That the bible is not only about Jesus, or resurrection or sin, but it is simply God’s unrelenting way to bring us back to Him, so we may once again live in the way we are designed to and enjoy the blessings that are only available through Him.

Mel

Leave a Reply

